Effective March 3, the Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has classified eight Mexican regions for bovine tuberculosis as follows.

- the state of Sonora as level II

- the Yucatán Peninsula region (states of Yucatán and Quintana Roo and part of the state of Campeche), the Huasteca region (parts of the states of Puebla, Veracruz, and Hidalgo), part of the state of Chihuahua, and part of the state of Durango as level III

- part of the state of Coahuila, part of the state of Nuevo León, and the state of Tamaulipas as level IV

Under a new system that took effect in October 2020, USDA classifies foreign regions as levels I through V for bovine tuberculosis based on (1) whether they have control programs that meet certain standards and (2) the prevalence of the disease. Level I regions have the lowest prevalence and bovine animals from these regions may be imported without testing. Prevalence increases with each successive level, as do the associated import requirements.

Regions of Mexico not listed above do not currently hold bovine tuberculosis status and are not eligible to export bovine animals to the U.S. except to direct slaughter. These regions either do not have a program that meets APHIS requirements for bovine tuberculosis classification or are unassessed by APHIS with regard to this disease and would therefore be considered Level V.

Copyright © 2024 Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg, P.A.; WorldTrade Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved.

ST&R: International Trade Law & Policy

Since 1977, we have set the standard for international trade lawyers and consultants, providing comprehensive and effective customs, import and export services to clients worldwide.

View Our Services 


Cookie Consent

We have updated our Privacy Policy relating to our use of cookies on our website and the sharing of information. By continuing to use our website or subscribe to our publications, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.