The State Department has added Kyrgyzstan, Mozambique, and Qatar to the list of countries eligible for trade in rough diamonds under the Clean Diamond Trade Act of 2003. There are currently 60 countries and political entities on this list.

The CDTA requires the president to prohibit the importation into, or the exportation from, the U.S. of any rough diamond from whatever source that has not been controlled through the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme, which seeks to prevent trade in diamonds from funding civil wars and terrorist activities. “Controlled under the KPCS” means an importation from, or exportation to, the territory of a participant of rough diamonds that is either carried out in accordance with the KPCS or controlled under a system determined by the president to meet substantially the standards, practices, and procedures of the KPCS.

Copyright © 2024 Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg, P.A.; WorldTrade Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved.

ST&R: International Trade Law & Policy

Since 1977, we have set the standard for international trade lawyers and consultants, providing comprehensive and effective customs, import and export services to clients worldwide.

View Our Services 


Cookie Consent

We have updated our Privacy Policy relating to our use of cookies on our website and the sharing of information. By continuing to use our website or subscribe to our publications, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.