The Fish and Wildlife Service has issued a final rule that, effective Oct. 31, will list ten fish species (crucian carp, Prussian carp, Eurasian minnow, roach, stone moroko, Nile perch, Amur sleeper, European perch, zander, and wels catfish) and one crayfish (the common yabby) to the list of injurious wildlife under the Lacey Act. The FWS explains that each of these 11 species has become highly invasive in other parts of the world and has the potential to become invasive and highly detrimental to U.S. native wildlife and habitats.

This rule will prohibit the importation and interstate transport of any live animal, gamete, viable egg, or hybrid of the listed species except by permit for zoological, educational, medical, or scientific purposes. The rule does not prohibit intrastate transport or exportation of such products from designated ports.

Copyright © 2021 Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg, P.A.; WorldTrade Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved.

ST&R: International Trade Law & Policy

Since 1977, we have set the standard for international trade lawyers and consultants, providing comprehensive and effective customs, import and export services to clients worldwide.

View Our Services 


Cookie Consent

We use cookies on our website. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.