The Bureau of Industry and Security has issued a final rule that, effective Aug. 3, amends the Export Administration Regulations to restrict the export and reexport of certain items on the Commerce Control List to South Sudan. Specifically, BIS is adding South Sudan to the list of U.S. embargoed countries under the EAR (country group D:5) and adopting a restrictive license application review policy consistent with the policy set forth in the International Traffic in Arms Regulations. BIS notes that countries listed in country group D:5 are subject to additional restrictions in the EAR, including on de minimis U.S. content, license exception availability, and licensing policy for certain items.

Practice Areas


Cookie Consent

We use cookies on our website. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.