The EC recently updated its list of feed and food of non-animal origin subject to increased official controls at the border. This list must be reviewed at least biannually taking into account data resulting from notifications received through the Rapid Alert System for Food and Feed, reports and information resulting from the activities of the Food and Veterinary Office, reports and information received from third countries, information exchanged between the EC and EU member states and the European Food Safety Authority, and scientific assessments where appropriate.

The updated list reflects the addition of black pepper from Brazil, crushed or ground sweet peppers (Capsicum annuum) from China, aubergines from the Dominican Republic, sesamum seeds from Ethiopia, beans from Kenya, and peppers (other than sweet) from Uganda, as well as the removal of pineapples from Benin. The list currently includes a range of products from 28 different countries for reasons ranging from excessive pesticide residues to Salmonella contamination.

Copyright © 2022 Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg, P.A.; WorldTrade Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved.

ST&R: International Trade Law & Policy

Since 1977, we have set the standard for international trade lawyers and consultants, providing comprehensive and effective customs, import and export services to clients worldwide.

View Our Services 


Cookie Consent

We have updated our Privacy Policy relating to our use of cookies on our website and the sharing of information. By continuing to use our website or subscribe to our publications, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.