The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative has determined that certain sugar and syrup goods and sugar-containing products from Chile, Morocco, and Peru may not enter the U.S. duty-free or at preferential tariff rates in 2020. Under the free trade agreements the U.S. has in place with these countries, USTR is allowed to take this action because they did not have trade surpluses in these products in 2018.

However, USTR has determined that Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama did have trade surpluses in sugar and syrup goods and sugar-containing products in 2018. As a result, the following aggregate quantities of such goods may be entered duty-free in 2020.

- Colombia: 56,000 metric tons

- Costa Rica: 14,080 metric tons

- Dominican Republic: 4,520 metric tons

- El Salvador: 36,040 metric tons

- Guatemala: 49,820 metric tons

- Honduras: 10,240 metric tons

- Nicaragua: 28,160 metric tons

- Panama: 545 metric tons

Copyright © 2023 Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg, P.A.; WorldTrade Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved.

ST&R: International Trade Law & Policy

Since 1977, we have set the standard for international trade lawyers and consultants, providing comprehensive and effective customs, import and export services to clients worldwide.

View Our Services 


Cookie Consent

We have updated our Privacy Policy relating to our use of cookies on our website and the sharing of information. By continuing to use our website or subscribe to our publications, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.