The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative has determined that certain sugar and syrup goods and sugar-containing products from Chile, the Dominican Republic, Morocco, Panama, and Peru may not enter the U.S. duty-free or at preferential tariff rates in 2018. Under the free trade agreements the U.S. has in place with these countries, USTR is allowed to take this action because they did not have trade surpluses in these products in 2016.

However, USTR has determined that Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua did have trade surpluses in sugar and syrup goods and sugar-containing products in 2016. As a result, the following aggregate quantities of such goods may be entered duty-free in 2018.

- Colombia: 54,500 metric tons

- Costa Rica: 13,640 metric tons

- El Salvador: 34,680 metric tons

- Guatemala: 47,940 metric tons

- Honduras: 9,920 metric tons

- Nicaragua: 27,280 metric tons

Copyright © 2021 Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg, P.A.; WorldTrade Interactive, Inc. All rights reserved.

ST&R: International Trade Law & Policy

Since 1977, we have set the standard for international trade lawyers and consultants, providing comprehensive and effective customs, import and export services to clients worldwide.

View Our Services 


Cookie Consent

We use cookies on our website. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.