The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative is seeking comments by Sept. 15 on the operation of the Caribbean Basin Initiative (the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act as amended by the Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act). USTR will use this information to prepare its biannual report to Congress on the operation of these programs.

Barbados, Belize, Curacao, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago are both CBERA and CBTPA beneficiary countries. Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, the British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines currently receive benefits only under CBERA.

USTR is particularly interested in comments on (a) the performance of beneficiary countries under the specified criteria, which relate to World Trade Organization commitments, intellectual property rights protection, labor rights, market access, cooperation with counter-narcotics efforts, good governance, government procurement, and other issues; and (b) the CBI’s effect on the volume and composition of trade and investment between the U.S. and beneficiary countries and on advancing U.S. trade policy goals.


Cookie Consent

We use cookies on our website. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.