Print PDF

Practice Areas

Trade Court Justices Confirmed, CPSC Commissioner Nominated

Tuesday, May 28, 2013
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Senate voted May 23 to confirm two new justices for the Court of International Trade.Brooklyn Law School professor Claire R. Kelly serves as co-director for The Dennis J. Block Center for the Study of International Business Law and as the faculty advisor for the Brooklyn Journal of International Law. She also serves on the board of directors of the Customs and International Trade Bar Association and chairs its Subcommittee on Trade Adjustment Assistance. Mark A. Barnett has been deputy chief counsel in the Office of Chief Counsel for Import Administration at the Commerce Department since 2005 and has worked as an attorney in the same office since 1995. From 2008 to 2009 he was detailed to the House Ways and Means Committee, where he served as trade counsel for the Subcommittee on Trade.

On May 24, President Obama announced his intent to nominate Ann Marie Buerkle as a member of the Consumer Product Safety Commission. Buerkle, a one-time registered nurse, served as a member of Congress from 2011 to 2013 and as an assistant attorney general for the state of New York from 1997 to 2009. An article in the Syracuse Post-Standard said it is unclear whether Buerkle is intended to replace Nancy Nord, whose term expires in October, or to fill an open seat.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines