Print PDF

Practice Areas

New Trade Restrictions on Five Foreign Species of Sturgeon

Monday, July 07, 2014
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Fish & Wildlife Service has announced that, effective July 2, the prohibitions of the Endangered Species Act apply to the following five species of sturgeon and their parts and products: Acipenser naccarii (Adriatic sturgeon) and Acipenser sturio (European sturgeon) in Western Europe, Acipenser sinensis (Chinese sturgeon) in the Yangtze River Basin, and Acipenser mikadoi (Sakhalin sturgeon) and Huso dauricus (Kaluga sturgeon) in the Amur River Basin/Sea of Japan/Sea of Okhotsk region. This includes prohibitions on imports, exports and sales in interstate commerce, except with an ESA permit or if the specimen meets the pre-Act or antique criteria under the ESA. Specimens from all sources, including wild and aquaculture, are subject to these restrictions.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines