Print PDF

DOT Proposes Eight Airlines to Begin Scheduled Service to Havana

Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Department of Transportation has proposed to select eight U.S. airlines to begin scheduled flights between the U.S. cities of Atlanta, Charlotte, Fort Lauderdale, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Newark, New York City, Orlando and Tampa and the Cuban capital of Havana as early as this fall. The airlines receiving the tentative awards are Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Frontier Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Southwest Airlines, Spirit Airlines and United Airlines. A DC Velocity article notes that no U.S. all-cargo airline applied for authority to serve Havana but that the passenger carriers tentatively selected make cargo space available in the lower holds of their aircraft.

Objections to the DOT’s tentative decision are due by July 22 and answers to any objections filed will be due by July 29. The DOT expects to reach a final decision later this summer.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines