Print PDF

Practice Areas

Updated List of Countries Eligible for Trade in Rough Diamonds

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The State Department has issued an updated list of all countries eligible for trade in rough diamonds under the Clean Diamond Trade Act of 2003 and their respective importing and exporting authorities. The revised list reflects the reinstatement of Venezuela and the Central African Republic, which had previously been suspended. There are currently 55 countries and political entities on this list.

The CDTA requires the president to prohibit the importation into, or the exportation from, the U.S. of any rough diamond from whatever source that has not been controlled through the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme, which seeks to prevent trade in diamonds from funding civil wars and terrorist activities. “Controlled under the KPCS” means an importation from, or exportation to, the territory of a participant of rough diamonds that is either carried out in accordance with the KPCS or controlled under a system determined by the president to meet substantially the standards, practices, and procedures of the KPCS.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines