Print PDF

Practice Areas

Nonproliferation Measures Imposed for Shipments to Iran, North Korea, and Syria

Thursday, May 10, 2018
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The State Department has determined that 28 foreign entities in China, Egypt, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates have engaged in activities that warrant the imposition of penalties for the transfer to or acquisition from Iran, Syria, or North Korea of goods, services, or technology controlled under multilateral control lists or otherwise having the potential to make a material contribution to the development of weapons of mass destruction or cruise or ballistic missile systems.

As a result, effective April 30 and for two years thereafter, the following measures are being imposed against these entities and any successors, sub-units, or subsidiaries thereof.

- no U.S. government department or agency may procure or enter into any contract for the procurement of any goods, technology, or services from these entities

- no U.S. government department or agency may provide any assistance to these entities and they will not be eligible to participate in any U.S. government assistance program

- no U.S. government sales to these entities of any item on the U.S. Munitions List are permitted and all sales to these entities of any defense articles, defense services, or design and construction services under the Arms Export Control Act are terminated

- no new individual licenses will be granted for the transfer to these entities of items the export of which is controlled under the Export Administration Act of 1979 or the Export Administration Regulations, and any existing such licenses are suspended

View Document(s):

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines