Print PDF

Practice Areas

Imports of 11 Fish and Crustacean Species Prohibited

Monday, October 03, 2016
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Fish and Wildlife Service has issued a final rule that, effective Oct. 31, will list ten fish species (crucian carp, Prussian carp, Eurasian minnow, roach, stone moroko, Nile perch, Amur sleeper, European perch, zander, and wels catfish) and one crayfish (the common yabby) to the list of injurious wildlife under the Lacey Act. The FWS explains that each of these 11 species has become highly invasive in other parts of the world and has the potential to become invasive and highly detrimental to U.S. native wildlife and habitats.

This rule will prohibit the importation and interstate transport of any live animal, gamete, viable egg, or hybrid of the listed species except by permit for zoological, educational, medical, or scientific purposes. The rule does not prohibit intrastate transport or exportation of such products from designated ports.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines