Print PDF

Practice Areas

Child Labor Eradication Efforts See Improvements in 2017

Thursday, September 27, 2018
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Department of Labor’s Bureau of International Labor Affairs has released its annual report describing the efforts of 132 countries and territories to eliminate the worst forms of child labor, which is one of the criteria for eligibility for trade benefits under the Generalized System of Preferences, the Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act, and the African Growth and Opportunity Act.

This report provides information to governments on how best to combat labor abuses, including more than 1,700 country-specific recommended actions. In addition, companies use this report as an input into risk assessments and to conduct due diligence on their supply chains. To aid in this effort the DOL makes available a mobile application that provides companies with detailed guidance on how to develop robust social compliance systems that identify, rectify, and prevent labor abuses in the production of their goods.

The report tracks from year to year whether a country has made significant, moderate, minimal, or no advancement in eliminating the worst forms of child labor. For 2017, 17 countries received an assessment of significant advancement, 60 achieved moderate advancement, 42 made minimal advancement, and 12 saw no advancement.

- Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Ecuador, Guatemala, Paraguay, Peru, Thailand, and Tunisia remained on the “significant achievement” list.

- Honduras, India, Mauritius, Rwanda, Serbia, and South Africa were elevated from the “moderate advancement” list to the “significant advancement” list.

- Albania, Chile, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kosovo, Mali, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Uganda, and Western Sahara were downgraded from the “significant advancement” list to the “moderate advancement” list.

- Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Gambia, Guinea, Haiti, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lebanon, Liberia, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Montenegro, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Saint Lucia, Sri Lanka, Turkey, and Zimbabwe remained on the “moderate advancement” list.

- Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Cook Islands, Dominican Republic, Lesotho, and Mozambique were moved from the “minimal advancement” list to the “moderate advancement” list, while Uzbekistan advanced from the “no advancement” list to the “moderate advancement” list.

- Anguilla, Armenia, Azerbaijan, British Virgin Islands, Burundi, Djibouti, Dominica, Gabon, Georgia, Grenada, Iraq, Kiribati, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Congo, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Suriname, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Vanuatu, West Bank and the Gaza Strip, and Yemen remained on the “minimal advancement” list.

- Bhutan, Botswana, Chad, Comoros, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Kyrgyz Republic, Maldives, Mongolia, Nicaragua, Samoa, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Zambia fell from the “moderate advancement” list to the “minimal advancement” list.

- Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Eritrea, Niue, South Sudan, and Tokelau remained on the “no advancement” list.

- The Falkland Islands, Montserrat, Norfolk Island, Saint Helena, Ascensión, and Tristán da Cunha, and Tonga dropped from the “minimal advancement” list to the “no advancement” list.

- Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) moved up from the “no advancement” list to the “minimal advancement” list.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines