Print PDF

USTR Sets 2017 Duty-Free Import Volumes for Sugar Products from FTA Partners

Friday, December 23, 2016
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative has determined that certain sugar and syrup goods and sugar-containing products from Chile, the Dominican Republic, Morocco, Panama, and Peru may not enter the U.S. duty-free or at preferential tariff rates in 2017. Under the free trade agreements the U.S. has in place with these countries, USTR is allowed to take this action because they did not have trade surpluses in these products in 2015.

However, USTR has determined that Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua did have trade surpluses in sugar and syrup goods and sugar-containing products in 2015. As a result, the following aggregate quantities of such goods may be entered duty-free in 2017.

- Colombia: 53,750 metric tons

- Costa Rica: 13,420 metric tons

- El Salvador: 34,000 metric tons

- Guatemala: 47,000 metric tons

- Honduras: 9,760 metric tons

- Nicaragua: 26,840 metric tons

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines