Print PDF

Practice Areas

USTR Preparing Biannual Report on Caribbean Trade Preference Program

Friday, October 04, 2013
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative is seeking no later than Nov. 1 the views of interested parties on the operation of the Caribbean Basin Initiative (the Caribbean Basin Economic Recovery Act as amended by the Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act).

Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago are both CBERA and CBTPA beneficiary countries. Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, The Bahamas, the British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines currently receive benefits only under CBERA. Panama ceased to be a beneficiary when its free trade agreement with the U.S. entered into force on Oct. 31, 2012.

USTR is particularly interested in comments on (a) the performance of beneficiary countries under the specified criteria, which relate to World Trade Organization commitments, intellectual property rights protection, labor rights, cooperation with counter-narcotics efforts, good governance and government procurement, and (b) the CBI’s effect on the volume and composition of trade and investment between the U.S. and beneficiary countries and advancing U.S. trade policy goals as set forth in the CBTPA. USTR will use this information to prepare its biannual report to Congress on the operation of these programs.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines