Print PDF

Practice Areas

Former CPSC Chief of Staff Nominated to Commissioner Post

Friday, November 08, 2013
Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report

President Obama announced Nov. 6 his intent to nominate Joseph P. Mohorovic as a commissioner on the Consumer Product Safety Commission. Mohorovic would fill the vacancy opened when Nancy Nord left the CPSC on Oct. 26 and bring back to four the number of active commissioners following the impending departure of Chairman Inez Tenenbaum.

Since 2007 Mohorovic has served as senior vice president of strategic management of the North America Consumer Goods division of Intertek, a testing, inspection and certification company. He worked for the CPSC from 2002 to 2006, first as a senior policy advisor to the chairman and then as chief of staff and director in the Office of International Programs and Intergovernmental Affairs. Earlier in his career he served as a member of the New Mexico state legislature and as chief of staff in the New Mexico Senate.

Tenenbaum has said she plans to leave the CPSC as of Dec. 1, and no replacement has yet been named. Commissioner Bob Adler, whose term runs through October 2014, is expected to be name acting chairman once Tenenbaum leaves. Two other commissioners – Marietta Robinson and Ann Marie Buerkle – were sworn in this past July for terms expiring in October 2017 and October 2018, respectively.

To get news like this in your inbox daily, subscribe to the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report.

Customs & International Headlines